Skip to content
    All posts

    Staying Current and Compliant: Understanding ABOG's MOC Requirements

    The American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG) requires physicians certified in obstetrics and gynecology to participate in a Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program. This program is designed to ensure that board-certified physicians maintain current knowledge and skills in their field. The MOC process is divided into four parts, which include continuous learning and assessment, self-assessment, cognitive expertise, and practice improvement. Here are the key components of the MOC program.

    Why MOC Matters

    Before we explore the specifics, it’s essential to understand why MOC is not just a bureaucratic hurdle but a meaningful process. In any medical field, staying updated with the latest practices, research findings, and technological developments is not optional but necessary. MOC ensures that board-certified OB/GYN physicians continually strive to refine and update their expertise.

    The Four Components of ABOG MOC

    Part I: Professionalism & Professional Standing

    Professionalism and Professional Standing include acting in your patients' best interest, behaving professionally with patients, families, and colleagues, taking appropriate care of yourself, and representing your board certification and status in a professional manner. Med-Challenger's Professionalism course covers the fundamentals; patient management, practice management, law and ethics, and industry interactions. The following categories describe the specific areas that form the basis of Professionalism and Professional Standing:

    • Licenses  

      ABOG requires an active, full, and unrestricted license in each state in which you are licensed as one measure of professionalism and professional standing. ABOG will query each state licensing board through the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) for lists of physicians who hold active licenses. Physicians must have an active, unrestricted medical license in each state in which they practice. In addition, ABOG is informed through the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) and other appropriate sources about medical board disciplinary and non-disciplinary actions that are taken against diplomates' licenses to practice. 

    • Unrestricted Privileges
      ABOG requires unrestricted privileges in obstetrics and gynecology currently and during the past 12 months at each institution, facility, or hospital where you practice as another measure of professionalism and professional standing.
    • Moral & Ethical Behavior
      You must present evidence of good moral and ethical character and an untarnished professional reputation. The method of demonstrating professionalism and professional standing is different for practice settings.
    • Restrictions of Practice 
      If you have had a license restricted, suspended, placed on probation, surrendered or revoked by any licensing board or have had any negative action taken by a hospital, medical facility, or healthcare organization, you will not be allowed to participate in the MOC process until all such restrictions are removed. Conditions placed on medical licenses or hospital privileges are considered to be restrictions of practice.
    • Falsification
      Falsification of data submitted to ABOG or evidence of other egregious ethical, moral, or professional misbehavior may result in deferral of your MOC application for at least three years. You will lost certification during this deferral period and must apply for re-entry to reinstate board certification. It is your responsibility to inform ABOG of any and all actions against a medical license, hospital or other privileges, and credentials, including having your practice monitored.
    • Probationary Certification Status
      If you have medical licenses on probation for a specified length of time, you may request or be assigned to participate in the MOC process in a probationary certification status if the reason for probation is not associated with a criminal conviction or plea. Each request or situation will be reviewed by the appropriate ABOG committee. The decision of the committee is final and cannot be appealed. 

    Part II: Lifelong Learning and Self-assessment

    Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment requires ongoing participation in learning activities. These activities are delivered through article-reading assignments from peer-reviewed literature on clinically relevant patient-management information, best-practice guidelines, and research. Participants have multiple resources to choose from each year to fulfill the Part II requirement. Articles are released in three batches, usually in January, May, and August. You have two opportunities to answer questions for each article correctly. If your initial answer is incorrect, you'll get feedback and a second chance to answer.

    Part III: Assessment of Knowledge, Judgment, and Skills

    Assessment of Knowledge, Judgement, and Skills builds upon and links to the continuous learning and self-assessment requirements of MOC Part II. These standards contribute to better patient care by incorporating an external objective assessment to provide assurance that there has been the necessary commitment to lifelong learning and to remain current in core content of obstetrics and gynecology and its subspecialties.

    Part IV: Practice Improvement

    Practice Improvement contributes to improved patient care through ongoing assessment and improvement in the quality of care in practices, hospitals, health systems, and/or community settings. There is now more flexibility in meeting this MOC standard, as you can choose the activity most relevant to your own practice and practice setting. It is required that you participate in one of the available Practice Improvement activities yearly in MOC Years 1-5.

    This can include activities that result in:

    • Improved patient or population health outcomes
    • Improved access to health care
    • Improved patient experience (including patient satisfaction)
    • Increased value in the health care system


    Overall, the ABOG's MOC program is designed to promote lifelong learning, continuous improvement, and adherence to the highest professional standards in obstetrics and gynecology. By engaging in these activities, physicians demonstrate their commitment to keeping their knowledge and skills current and to providing the best possible care to their patients. It's important for physicians to stay informed of any updates or changes in the MOC requirements by checking with ABOG directly.


    Make sure you have everything you need, the deadline to complete 2023 MOC requirements is December 15, 2023!

    Med-Challenger provides OBGYN review, MOC, and CME requirements with Med-Challenger OBGYN.

    To fulfill state requirements, see Med-Challenger State Required CME.

    For professionalism needs, Med-Challenger Professionalism 


    Try or Buy Now

    Is it OBGYN group or program education that you seek? Med-Challenger for Residency Programs can help with that too!