Florida CME Requirements
What are the state CME requirements in Florida?
Here are the continuing medical education requirements for Florida.
Florida Board of Medicine CME Requirements (MDs)
Annual State CME Requirements for Florida
- 40 total hours every 2 years
- 40 AMA Approved Credits
- 2 Medical Error (must include information regarding the 5 most mis-diagnosed conditions, in accordance with Rule 64B8-13.005, F.A.C.).
- 2 Domestic Violence (Every 3rd Renewal Period)
- 1 First-time renewers must also complete (1) hour of HIV/AIDS
Every physician licensed pursuant to Chapter 458, F.S., shall be required to complete 40 hours of continuing medical education courses approved by the Board in the 24 months preceding each biennial renewal period as established by the Department. As part of every third biennial renewal licensure period, all licensees shall complete two (2) hours of training in domestic violence. Upon a licensee’s first renewal of licensure, the licensee must document the completion of one (1) hour of Category I American Medical Association Continuing Medical Education which includes the topics of Human Immunodeficiency Virus and Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome. Completion of two hours of continuing medical education relating to prevention of medical errors which includes a study of root cause analysis, error reduction and prevention, and patient safety. The law from the new controlled substance bill requires the completion of a mandatory ce/cme course by January 31, 2019. The controlled substance prescribing course is separate and apart from the licensure renewal requirements under Florida Statutes 456. First Biennium Renewal: If you are renewing your license for the first time you are exempt from the general continuing medical education requirements and are only required to complete 2 hours of Medical Error and 1 hour of HIV/AIDS.
View Source: Florida Board of Medicine
Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine (DOs)
State CME Requirements for Florida
All first time renewals whose license was issued subsequent to July 1, of the second year of the biennium:
- 40 total hours every 2 years
- 20 AOA Category 1-A Credits
- 40 AMA Approved Credits
- 1 hour Florida Laws and Rules/Professional and Medical Ethics
- 2 hours Prevention of Medical Errors
- 2 hours Prescribing Controlled Substances (This requirement applies only to licensees registered with the DEA and authorized to prescribe controlled substances)
- On every third biennium renewal, 2 hours on Domestic Violence
You may only complete 8 total home-study hours to satisfy renewal requirements No more than 6 hours of CME credit can be used per biennium for attendance at a board meeting. The law from the new controlled substance bill requires the completion of a mandatory ce/cme course by January 31, 2019. The controlled substance prescribing course is separate and apart from the licensure renewal requirements under Florida Statutes 456. (1)(a) Every person licensed pursuant to chapter 459, F.S., except those licensed as physician assistants pursuant to section 459.022, F.S., shall be required to complete forty (40) hours of continuing medical education courses approved by the Board in the twenty-four (24) months preceding each biennial renewal period as established by the Department. (b) A licensee shall not be required to complete continuing medical education if the initial license is issued subsequent to July 1 of the second year of the biennium, except as found in paragraph 64B15-13.001(1)(a), F.A.C. (c) A licensee shall complete a two (2) hour Domestic Violence Course as part of every third biennial renewal of licensure. (d) A licensee shall complete a one (1) hour HIV/AIDS course no later than upon first biennial renewal of licensure. (2) At least twenty (20) of the forty (40) hours of the continuing medical education required under this rule shall be American Osteopathic Association approved Category I-A continuing education related to the practice of osteopathic medicine or under osteopathic auspices.
View Source: Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine
How do you fulfill state CME requirements?
Med-Challenger offers a state CME course that fulfills state continuing medical education requirements. Take assessments on state-mandated CME topics and earn AMA Category 1 CME credit. Submit your state CME certificates to your state CME authorities. It's the fastest, most convenient way to satisfy your state CME requirements annually.
Most Popular State CME Course.
All State CME Requirements in One.
State CME Requirements
Satisfy your state CME requirements easily, every year.
Satisfy State-required CME anytime, anywhere, year after year, with Med-Challenger's State CME Requirements course. Continually updated.
- One-time purchase. No re-buys ever.
- One year of Premium Access free
- 1000+ high-yield board-style questions with detailed explanations
- Over 70 topics, including new topics annually
- 87 AMA Category 1 CME credits
- 86 ANCC contact hours
Save time, money and stress.
Don't spend your time and energy - and more money - traveling to and sitting through a live review cram course that leaves you holding a paper binder and no lasting value. With Med-Challenger, you study when you want, where you want. Stay comfortable. We bring everything to you. More than just effective board exam review, more than a "question bank," it's ongoing knowledge support for lifelong practice excellence.
Plus, our board reviews are designed for your high-stakes exam - as well as your career requirements after you've passed your exam - year after year. You'll never have to buy MOC resources again.
"Med-Challenger is by far the most convenient way to earn required CME credits while truly improving your knowledge and practice."